Shayne’s Project 365


Blessed To Be A Blessing
January 26, 2010, 9:39 pm
Filed under: Food, Kids | Tags:

This year, I decided to participate in the KSBJ Giving Tree for the first time.  The radio station’s listeners could nominate folks they knew who had a need at Christmas.  The needs were posted on the website and others in the community could volunteer to meet those needs.

2009 was a hard year for many people.  We continued to be blessed with good health, good jobs and a steady financial situation.  Every year at Christmas, I hear about the Giving Tree on the radio, but I never felt called to participate until this year.  I looked at the needs, which were many, and narrowed them down to 2 or 3 in our area that captured my heart.  I presented these to Hubby for his consideration, and we ultimately chose a man and his teenage son.  The wife/mother had died several years ago, and the father got laid off this year.  He had recently found a job that paid less than his old job and required a long daily commute, but at least it provided some income.  They had been selling their furniture at garage sales just to put food on the table.  Their needs were basic — clothing and food.

When I contacted Eden, the sweet young woman who nominated the family, she told me that others had stepped up to provide clothing, but that there was still a need for food and basic cleaning supplies.  I agreed that we could provide that.  One big shopping trip to H-E-B later, the back of our SUV was filled with non-perishable food items, cleaning supplies, a grocery gift card, and even a couple of Best Buy gift cards as a little something extra. 

Later that day, I drove the items to Eden’s house to drop them off.  I made a point to tell the boys that the house where we were going was only 10 minutes away and very near where I grew up.  I wanted them to understand that people in need are all around us — even close by. 

Eden delivered all the gifts to the family the next day.  She said that in all the years she had known him, she had never seen the dad get emotional, but he was almost in tears over the gifts they had received.  He told her that they had not been able to purchase groceries in several weeks.  Our family has been blessed many times over, and I’m thrilled we were able to share that with one of our neighbors in need this Christmas!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I hadn’t checked out your pictures in a while and when I read about your Christmas project it brought tears to my eyes. You and your family are so generous and loving and I am so glad you are a part of my family. I love you all and miss you because we don’t get to see you that often. God bless you for being so wonderful but then you come from such a wonderful set of parents. Love ya, Bev

Comment by Beverly




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

