Shayne’s Project 365


Lifelines
March 12, 2009, 8:16 pm
Filed under: Indoors | Tags:

March 12When you step back and really think about it, the pace with which technology moves and the pace with which we become accustomed to it is pretty amazing. Just a little over 10 years ago, we called cell phones “car phones” because they had to be plugged into your car to work and a Blackberry was a fruit. Yet once you get used to have constant phone access and to sending and receiving email virtually anywhere, you can’t imagine how life was before. Sometimes I get annoyed by the instant, constant accessibility that these devices bring. But today I was thankful for it.

You see, my friend Jane Ann had brain surgery this morning to remove a lesion that is believed to be metastasis from her breast cancer. And my friend Kim’s 7-year-old daughter had surgery this morning to implant an internal defibrillator in her heart, which was severely damaged by the chemotherapy that cured her osteosarcoma last year. She needs a heart transplant, but the wait has been long and so this was a step designed to allowed her to go home to wait for her new heart. But things didn’t go well with that device and so instead they gave her a mechanical heart (another miracle of technology that we couldn’t even have imagined not so long ago).

As I tried my best to go about my normal workday, my cell phone, Blackberry and laptop became my lifelines to the outside world. They brought updates and news and allowed me to express my thoughts and prayers.

Please continue to pray for these families, as well as a co-worker’s dad who had surgery today.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

i love your post. it truly brought tears to my eyes.

Comment by Stephanie




Leave a Reply

