Shayne’s Project 365


What Kind of Quat?
March 18, 2009, 7:02 pm
Filed under: Outdoors | Tags:

March 18When I was growing up, my grandmother had a kumquat bush in her yard. Nothing made me happier than to go outside and pick kumquats, which always seemed to be plentiful on that bush. I would put them in a brown paper lunch sack and give them to her friend Mr. Pang. This pleased him greatly, and he would bring me gallons of Blue Bell vanilla ice cream, candy, cookies and all sorts of treats. I’ve actually never eaten a kumquat. But I thought they looked cute, like tiny little oranges.

When we bought our house several years ago, the builders didn’t consult us about what kind of plants we wanted in our front landscaping. We moved in during October and the small tree in our yard was flowering. The next spring, the tree in the front yard suddenly bore this bizarre-looking fruit. “What in the heck is that?” I wondered. I picked one and brought it inside to cut it open. It sort of looked like a cross between a pear and an apple. “What in the heck is that?” I asked my husband. No clue. Finally, my mother-in-law paid us a visit that spring. She is a super-duper master gardener. “What in the heck is that?” I inquired. Her answer: “Why, that’s a loquat tree!” “A what?” I’d never heard of it. Apparently, the loquat is a distant cousin of the apple. It’s actually not related to the kumquat, but both names have Chinese origins. So there’s your horticulture lesson for the day to go along with the photo of my loquat tree.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love this picture. Can you actually eat this loquat or is it just an ornamental cousin to the apple?

Comment by Barb E.

I believe it’s edible, though I’ve never been brave enough to try. Maybe I can convince one of the kids to do it….

Comment by Shayne

Very interesting! You should research the possibility of pie.

I have several mystery plants and bushes in our yard. I need your MIL to come over to help me figure things out.

Comment by gretchen from lifenut

LOL, she lives in Wyoming, so she’s not all that far away…

Comment by Shayne




Leave a Reply

