Shayne’s Project 365


Everyone is Beautiful
April 6, 2009, 8:02 pm
Filed under: Indoors | Tags:

April 6I went to a book club discussion this evening with author Katherine Center. She recently published her second novel, Everyone is Beautiful. Her writing is delightful and just draws you in so you can’t stop reading! In both her new book and her first novel, The Bright Side of Disaster, I love her descriptions of motherhood, which are just so dead on you can’t help but smile when you recognize yourself in them.

Though we did not know each other well, Katherine and I were in the same graduating class in college. And she attended my rival high school here in Houston. I first met her at an alumni association send-off party for the incoming college freshmen a few weeks before we left for school.

She is wonderful and down-to-earth and funny. The kind of person you just want to get a cup of coffee and curl up on the couch and hang out with all day long. She was kind enough to autograph a book and pose for a picture with me. The picture is not wonderful with the sun shining in the window behind my head. But at least I’ve got a photo of me for this month, and it includes a look at my new hairdo (I got it cut yesterday and it is way shorter than I anticipated!). I appreciate the irony of complaining about how I look in a post called “Everyone is Beautiful,” so I’ll just leave it at that!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

She is wonderful. I totally agree that she is someone you could just hang out with doing absolutely nothing and still have fun. Thanks for sharing this one. By the way – I think you are beautiful.

Comment by Angela Hughes




Leave a Reply

