Shayne’s Project 365


Family
April 11, 2009, 6:10 pm
Filed under: Family | Tags:

April 11We celebrate Easter with my extended family on Saturday of Easter weekend. Though almost all of us live in the Houston metro area, we rarely see each other except on holidays. So it’s important for us to get together. But on Easter Sunday, everyone likes attending their own church and the scheduling can be difficult with the different church service times and then everyone driving to Spring to my grandmother’s house.

In my family, there is my grandmother (who turns 84 this year and doesn’t seem a day over 60); my parents and my dad’s two sisters and their husbands; their 4 children (my generation) and spouses; and our 10 kids. So it was a full house!

After we ate, we had the traditional family Easter egg hunt for the little ones (and not so little ones–the oldest ones are teenagers). After the kids inspected all their goodies, I snapped this photo of my cousin Hannah, age 10, holding her cousin Lucianna, age 1. Hannah had some buttons on her shirt that Lucianna was quite interested in. Hannah is the oldest of 4 children in her immediate family, so she is already an old pro at handling babies with love and patience. There were so many good photos from today (including pancake breakfast at church and the Easter egg hunt at the YMCA) that it was hard to pick just one. But something about the moment captured here made this one my favorite.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

