Shayne’s Project 365


The Original and Best
September 15, 2009, 9:00 pm
Filed under: Food | Tags:

September 15Last night, Jacob cooked a fish recipe that, when stripped of its cutesy name, was cod filets encrusted in crushed Corn Flakes and Rice Krispies.

My kids are usually sugary, kid-cereal type of kids. And I’m ok with that. I know it’s not a stellar breakfast choice, but I secretly harbor a soft spot in my heart (and tummy) for Cookie Crisp, Cocoa Puffs, Corn Pops and the like, so I indulge them in cereal.

Imagine my surprise when both boys asked for Corn Flakes this morning! Jacob actually asked for the same combo as the fish coating — Corn Flakes and Rice Krispies. When I was their age, a bowl of Corn Flakes would have been coated in a couple of spoonfuls of sugar before I would entertain the thought of eating it (see, I told you I like sugary cereal). But they happily slurped up their unsweetened bowls of cereal.

It made me think of my friend Gretchen, who blogs at Lifenut, and her own kids’ opinion of Corn Flakes.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

