Shayne’s Project 365


Twinkie
October 18, 2009, 11:44 pm
Filed under: Food | Tags:

October 18The boys tried Twinkies today for the first time.  One of them snapped this picture before chowing down.  I was actually surprised to learn that they had never tried one before.  I’ve never given them one, but I guess I figured they would have encountered these creme-filled sponge cakes somewhere at school or at a party.  So when they asked to try them,  I couldn’t say no.  They’re kids.  Kids should have Twinkies now and then.

Interestingly, they didn’t like them!  That kind of made me laugh because I didn’t like them as a kid either (still don’t).  I remember thinking that I should like them.  They seem like something kids would like.  The cake was fine, but that creme filling never tantalized my taste buds.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

How funny! I have a Twinkie cookbook. You could use it when you get done with the Star Wars cookbook? It could change your mind.

Comment by gretchen from lifenut

Dare I ask what else could possibly be made from a Twinkie? It would be interesting to peruse those recipes!

Comment by Shayne

Let’s see…there’s Chicken Raspberry Twinkie salad. Something called Twinkling Turkey and then the always popular Pigs in a Twinkie. Twinkie Lasagne, too.

For dessert, you can gulp a Twinkie milkshake or have Twinkie-Misu.

Comment by gretchen from lifenut

I think I just got a cavity from simply thinking about a Twinkie milkshake…

Comment by Shayne




Leave a Reply

