Shayne’s Project 365


Happy Buddhas
November 8, 2009, 8:43 pm
Filed under: Indoors | Tags:

November 4Though we never have been and never will be Buddhist, some remnants of Chinese culture do remain in our family.  My grandmother always had Buddha statuettes in her house.  She always told me that I should rub Buddha’s tummy for good luck.  Sometimes I did.  Sometimes I had good luck.  I don’t know that the two were ever correlated.

In any event, on one of our pre-parenthood trips to Disney World, Hubby and I found these little Buddhas in the China pavilion at Epcot.  They looked cheerful and reminded me of my grandmother’s house, so we bought them.  They stand guard over the ledge near our kitchen sink, looking out over the living room.  The poor guy in the back has seen better days.  Both of his hands have broken off, which I didn’t even realize until I took this photo.  I wonder if a handless Buddha has diminised luck-giving capacity?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Many Blessings on your Happy Red Buddhas…I saw a post called “Feng Shui-Laughing Buddha” that stated proper Feng Shui precludes display in the kitchen or bathroom…perhaps a change of location would bring amplified results…I don’t really know… Smiling

Comment by patchworkprince




Leave a Reply

