Shayne’s Project 365


Wolverine Party
November 18, 2009, 9:11 pm
Filed under: Food, Kids | Tags: , ,

Jacob celebrated his 6th birthday at Houston Swim Club with friends and classmates.  The theme of his party was Wolverine.  I chose this photo as my photo of the day because of the drama surrounding the cake. 

Normally, I order our cakes from a local bakery that makes unbelievably amazing cakes and charges unbelievably amazing high prices to match.* 

The bakery normally needs at least 1 week notice to create a custom cake.  When we ordered Jacob’s birthday invitations, he and I discussed what kind of cake he wanted.  The invitations had this image on them.  We agreed that it would be cool to have a cake that matched the invitation and looked like Wolverine had clawed through the cake.

Well, our schedule got crazy busy and the Sunday night before the party, I realized I had not ordered the cake.  BIG OOPS!  Then I realized that my usual bakery was not open on Monday.  I did not think I could wait until Tuesday to order the cake, so I started digging around on the Internet for a local bakery that could do a custom cake. 

T0 my delight, I found Kaci at Sugar Sweet Cakes, who quoted me a reasonable price on the cake and said it was no problem to do it by the following Saturday.  She was wonderful to work with, making sure she and I had the same vision for the cake.  It came out looking awesome.  Even more importantly, it tasted incredibly delicious!  It was a chocolate double-layer cake with strawberry filling.  Wolverine’s claws have clawed through the “Happy Birthday Jacob” message (per our request).  These claws look menacing, but are actually made of sugar! 

Because I forgot to take a photo on Friday the 13th (there’s a real lost opportunity!), I’ve included a second photo of Jacob in the pool at his party.

Hey Jacob, who's turning 6?

*As a side note, I know a lot of people think this is ridiculous and prefer to make their own cakes.  When Peter’s 1st birthday rolled around, however, I realized that I would be doing well just to plan and execute a party and did not want to stress out over the cake.  I am not much of a baker, and we are blessed enough to be able to afford to outsource the birthday cake baking to an expert and pay accordingly.  I realize fully that the cake is probably more important to me than it is to the kids.  I’m ok with that.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

